R.I.P Sue Townsend

Before Bridget Jones, I was enthralled and entertained by another great fictional diarist, Adrian Mole. I was introduced to him when I was in my teens, I was rummaging through my mother’s collection of books one boring afternoon and came across ‘The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4’. I giggled and guffawed my way through it, it was the funniest thing I had ever read. I quickly moved on to the sequels. There were times I wanted to strangle him for being silly, times when I sympathised with him and a shocking number of times where I identified with him. I was surprised when I realised a woman had written the books. How did she create this angst- ridden, moody, sometimes delusional, unlucky in love teenage boy? And she made him so real. I loved them all, the dysfunctional parents, gorgeous Pandora, cranky old Bert Baxter and even the constantly disapproving grandmother. As Adrian grew up in the series, I wondered if he would ever publish a book and marry Pandora. Things never always went as planned, but it just added to the fun. I grew up with Adrian Mole, through the ‘Wilderness Years’, ‘The Cappuccino Years’ and the ‘The Prostrate Years’ ; I still feel like I am growing up with him. I re-read the diaries, giggle and learn not to take life too seriously. So thank you Sue Townsend, for creating Adrian Mole and making me and millions of others laugh. Rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

