Madras <3

In a house by the sea, surrounded by trees, I lie in bed reading. Sometimes I wander from room to room– rooms filled with paintings, rooms filled with books.
I eat home food, crisp dosas and spicy chutneys, sambar rice and spinach poriyal– food I haven’t had to cook.
I go out, I am driven around. I smell the city and the sea, I see the people, I hear the language, I read the signs in Tamil, and I realise how much I have missed you.
You can be dirty, crowded and hot, but you are also laid-back,cultured, kind and lovely–Madras, my heart will always belong to you.

Leave a Reply

