Just Read

Over the past couple of days I read two books; Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings and Akhil Sharma’s Family Life. I enjoyed both for different reasons, though both books left me wanting more.

The Interestings follows the lives of 6 individuals who meet at an artsy summer camp in the 70s. They grow up, some remain friends, some of them are successful, some not so successful, they marry and have families of their own and try to find their way in the city of New York. I could connect with the angst, feeling lost, not feeling fulfilled and wanting more. There was some amount of whininess, but I could look past it, who among us isn’t whiney? But the cliches and stereotypes the characters fell into intermittently annoyed me.

Family Life is based on the author’s own life and is about his parents, brother and him living the immigrants life in America. But then there is an accident and his brother is declared brain-dead and everything changes. The book shows how the family evolves and  tries to cope. It is heartbreaking, sad and dark. It is also brutally honest. I just felt that the last line of the book left everything unsettled, I guess I like to find closure at the end of a book.But considering what the family went through, or more like going through still, the ending made sense. I don’t know.

I am wondering what to read next. I started the Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee, but wasnt able to get into it. Maybe I should give it another shot.

Leave a Reply

